Winners of the 2018 MTV Video Music Awards


The 2018 MTV Video Music Awards, were presented on Monday, 20 August at Radio City Music Hall in New York.

Big winners on the night included Ariana Grande, Cardi B and Jennifer Lopez who also received the Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award.

The award show also paid tribute to late soul singer Aretha Franklin who died last week.

Cardi B

If you missed the ceremony – which aired at 03:00 on MTV (DStv 130) – it will then be rebroadcast on Monday evening at 21:15 on the same channel.


Video of the year: Camila Cabella, Havana

Artist of the year: Camila Cabello

Song of the year: Rockstar, Post Malone featuring 21 Savage

Best new artist: Cardi B

Best collaboration: Dinero, Jennifer Lopez featuring DJ Khaled & Cardi B

Best pop: No Tears Left to Cry, Ariana Grande

Best hip hop: Chun-li, Nicki Minaj

Best Latin: Mi Gente, J Balvin and Willy William

Best danceLonely Together, Avicii featuring Rita Ora

Best rock: Whatever It Takes, Imagine Dragons

Video with a message: This is America, Childish Gambino

Song of summer: I Like It, Cardi B featuring Bad Bunny and J Balvin

Best art direction: Apeshit, (The Carters) Jan Houlevigue

Best choreography: This is America, (Childish Gambino), Sherrie Silver

Best cinematography: Apeshit, (The Carters), Benoit Debie

Best direction: This is America, (Childish Gambino) Hiromurai

Best editing: Lemon, (N.E.R.D. and Rihanna), Taylor Ward

Best visual effects: All the Stars (Kendrick Lamar and SZA), Loris Paillier

Push artist of the year: Hayley Kiyoko

Source: Channel24

Also, read

Black South Africans are capable farmers, says Ramaphosa

EFF’s Floyd Shivambu caught speeding in Free State

First witness to testify today: #StateCaptureInquiry