Skolopad and Zodwa Wabantu

Each year, the dramatic Feather Awards recognize and celebrate the LGBTIQA+ community and the iconic personalities and achievers who inspire the community. The 10th annual Chevrolet Feather Awards are back and bigger than ever before.

Winners of each category are voted for by the LGBTIQA+ community and local media. The nominees for this year’s Feather Awards were revealed at Constitution Court in Braamfontein, Johannesburg this afternoon with a few surprises on the list.

Spotted in attendance at the announcement ceremony this afternoon were celebrity dentist turned rapper, Dr Lex Leo, Refilwe Modiselle, radio superstar, Smash Afrika, Somizi, Bohang Moeko, Ayanda Thabethe, Rami Chuene, Renate Stuurman and Lucia Mthiyane.

Skolopad and Zodwa Wabantu

The nominees for the 10th annual Feather Awards are:

Best Styled Female:
Bonang Matheba
Ayanda Thabethe
Manthe Ribane

Best Styled Male:
Riky Rick
Kat Sinivasan
Zulu Mkhathini


Media of the Year (For telling LGBTIQA+ stories):
Daily Sun
Ferguson Films
Real Goboza
Sunday Sun
Metro FM
Living the Dream with Somizi
GaySA Radio
Mail And Guardian

Hot Chick of the Year:
Bontle Modiselle
Michelle Mosakae
Mihlali Ndamase

Hunk of the Year:
Thabang Molaba
Bohang Moeko
Tumi Seeco

Cutest Couple:
Mbuyiseni Ndlozi and Mmabatho Montsho
Shane Eagle and Nicole Swartz
Steve and Lucy Letsike

Diva Extraordinaire:
Thembsie Matu
Khusela Diko
Connie Ferguson

Fag Hag of the year:
Phila Madlingozi
Rami Chuene

Musician of the Year:
Nakhane Toure

Sports Personality of the Year:
Sunette Viljoen
Hlongwe Buthelezi
Phuti Lekoloane

Role Model of the Year:
Find New Words
Siya Khumalo
Ntsupe Mohapi

Drama Queen of the year:
Robbie Malinga Jr
Jackie Phamotse

Socialite of the year:
Modiselle sisters
Yaya Mavundla
Dr Smile (Lex Leo).

The 2018 Feather Awards will take place on Thursday, 15 November 2018 and will be hosted by Somizi Mhlongo.