Although the awards were surrounded by controversy after it was revealed that one of their nominees sent out homophobic tweets in the past, the organisers replaced the nominee with someone else.

The Feather Awards are one of South Africa’s most visible LGBTQI ceremonies in Africa, the awards aim to celebrate the LGBTQI community by making them visible in mainstream media.


 “As an event dedicated to fighting homophobia and discrimination against s.e.xual minorities, the Feather Awards has a zero tolerance attitude to such prejudice. Tumi Seeco’s nomination is withdrawn with immediate effect.”

Despite the drama, AKA who is nominated in the ‘Drama Queen of the year’ category took to his social media to express his excitement, “I’m nominated for drama queen of the year?? that’s awesome. I hope I win,” he wrote. Take a look at the tweet below:

He wrote: I’m nominated for drama queen of the year?? … that’s awesome. I hope I win.


Each year, the dramatic Feather Awards recognize and celebrate the LGBTIQA+ community and the iconic personalities and achievers who inspire the community. The 10th annual Chevrolet Feather Awards are back and bigger than ever before.

Winners of each category are voted for by the LGBTIQA+ community and local media. The nominees for this year’s Feather Awards were revealed at Constitution Court in Braamfontein, Johannesburg this afternoon with a few surprises on the list.

Spotted in attendance at the announcement ceremony this afternoon were celebrity dentist turned rapper, Dr Lex Leo, Refilwe Modiselle, radio superstar, Smash Afrika, Somizi, Bohang Moeko, Ayanda Thabethe, Rami Chuene, Renate Stuurman and Lucia Mthiyane. Click here for the full list.

Source: ZAlebs